Unit Two
Design

Mon Oct 11

1 | Planning I

Wed Oct 13

2 | Planning II

    • Work on Design Document / Contract

    • You can reference the Slick2D Javadoc

    • See the new Java Coder's Handbook (Unit 3) for videos and info!

    • Game Programming Lesson #2 - My First Project

      • Adding a Gamestate


All Classes - Wed Oct 13 @ 11:59 pm

Design Document + Contract

    • Share both documents with Mr. M

Phase One

Mon Oct 18

3 | Contract Conferences

    • Meet with Mr. M about contracts

    • Trello For Task List

    • Work Time

Wed Oct 20

4 | Coding Day

    • Work Time

Be Ready For Checkpoint #1

    • You'll meet with Mr. M and share your progress with the class

    • Make sure your code is merged and stable and that *all members* of your group have a copy.

Fri Oct 22

5 | Checkpoint #1

    • Update

      • Share progress with class

    • Conferences

      • Show program to Mr. M @ your computer

    • Work Time

2021 - JARVIS has procedural terrain generation

< PSAT Day - No Class on Tues Oct 26th >

Phase Two

Thur Oct 28

6 | Trello

    • Create a Trello Board

      • Example Board - Sojourn

        • Board Name is your project name

        • Match Lists: Long-Term, To Do, In Progress, Completed

        • Match Labels: Code, Media, Bugs, Design

        • Set a new background fitting your project

        • Make it public

      • Add Link to It In Your Design Document

    • Work Time

2021 - Mr. M's Sample Trello Board for Astraeus

Mon Nov 1

7 | Code

    • Work Time

2021 - Gecko adds platforming

2021 - Forge Enlightened allows users to place buildings

End of Quarter 1

    • All missing + late work must be submitted by Wednesday Nov 3rd

    • C++ Projects #1-#2, C++ Quiz #1-2, Design Doc, Trello, and Design Checkpoint #1

Wed Nov 3

8 | Code

    • Image Update

      • Send Mr. M at least one image of your project via message

      • Will be updated on the 2021 Projects Page

    • Trello Reminder

      • Standalone grade of 5 points (Q2)

      • Also factors into Checkpoint #2 and beyond

    • Work Time

2021 - JARVIS has enemies and background objects

Fri Nov 5

9 | Code

    • Half Day (End of Q1)

    • Work Time

2021 - Alpaca has movement and a platform

All Classes - Sun Nov 7 @ 11:59 pm

Submit Program for Checkpoint #2

    • Upload a zip file to Schoology containing program code

    • This file should run when imported into Eclipse OR upload an executable / runnable jar as an extra file

Tues Nov 9

10 | Checkpoint #2

    • LWJGL and Natives (see bottom of Coder's Handbook Entry)

    • Updates

      • Share progress with class

      • Show a running program

    • Conferences

    • Work Time

2021 - Collector of Peace (Title)

2021 - Falcon (Title)

Phase Three

Thur Nov 11

11 | Code

    • Conferences (Continued)

    • Work Time

2021 - Alpaca (ft. Dwayne)

2021 - Cave (Title)

Mon Nov 15

12 | Code

    • Work Time


Wed Nov 17

13 | Code

    • Submit two screenshots to Mr. M

    • Work Time

2021 - Falcon has a working toolbar, planting crops, and harvesting

Fri Nov 19

14 | Code

    • Work Time

2021 - Collector of Peace adds images

2021 - Gecko adds levels

All Classes - Sun Nov 21 @ 11:59 pm

Submit Program for Checkpoint #3

    • Upload a zip file to Schoology containing program code

    • This file should run when imported into Eclipse OR upload an executable / runnable jar as an extra file

Tues Nov 22

15 | Checkpoint #3

    • Updates

      • Share progress with class

      • Show a running program

    • Conferences

    • Work Time

2021 - Jarvis introduces caves with the biome system.

Thanksgiving Break

Phase Four (Alpha)

Mon Nov 29

16 | Code

    • Mr. M is Out

    • Work Time

Wed Dec 1

17 | Code

    • Contract Conferences (Phase Four)

    • Work Time

2021 - Alpaca improves graphics and adds platforming action

2021 - Gecko revises graphics and
level design

Fri Dec 3

18 | Runnable Jars

Tues Dec 7

19 | Code

    • Submit two screenshots to Mr. M

    • Work Time

2021 - Jarvis battles The Rockmonster in the desert biome using the block gun.

All Classes - Tues Dec 7 @ 11:59 pm

Submit Program for Checkpoint #4 (Alpha)

    • Upload a zip file to Schoology containing program code

    • This file should run when imported into Eclipse OR upload an executable / runnable jar as an extra file

Thur Dec 9


20 | Checkpoint #4

    • Updates

      • Share progress with class

      • Release an executable alpha

    • Conferences

    • Work Time

2021 - Collector of Peace adds art and branching backgrounds

Phase Five (Beta)

Mon Dec 13

21 | Code

    • Conferences (Continued)

    • Work Time

2021 - Cave overhauls its graphics and engine

Wed Dec 15

22 | Code

    • Project Name, Company Name, and Screenshots

    • Work Time

2021 - Alpaca adds new levels and a currency system

2021 - Forge adds arrow towers that can attack enemies

Fri Dec 17

23 | Code

    • Submit

      • Game Summary

      • Feedback Form

    • Work Time

2021 - Dixie Farming adds a shop and house for the player

2021 - Quest adds a ton of new levels with new art styles

All Classes - Mon Dec 20 @ 11:59 pm

Submit Program for Checkpoint #5 (Beta)

    • Upload a zip file to Schoology containing program code

    • This file should run when imported into Eclipse OR upload an executable / runnable jar as an extra file

Tues Dec 21

24 | Checkpoint #5

    • Updates

      • Share progress with class

      • Release your executable beta

    • Conferences

    • Work Time

Thur Dec 23

25 | Final Conferences

    • Conferences (Continued)


2021 - Jarvis adds a snow biome complete with hostile snowmen

Winter Break

Phase Six (Release)

Tues Jan 4

26 | Snow Day

    • Continue working on your project / enjoy the snow

Thur Jan 6

27 | Asynchronous Day

    • Work Time

Omicron Procedures

Please read the updated classroom procedures and expectations.

This is based on the current information and will be updated as BCPS policy changes!

Mon Jan 10

28 | Aysnchronous Day

    • Work Time

Virtual Learning Information

When we have synchronous online learning, this is your bell schedule

Online Schedule

1st - 7:45 to 9:00

2nd - 9:20 to 10:35

3rd - 11:35 - 12:50

4th - 1:10 to 2:25

Wed Jan 12

29 | Coding Day

Fri Jan 14

30 | Coding Day

    • Work Time

Wed Jan 19

31 | Coding Day

    • Added one more Coding Day due to Omicron

All Classes - Wed Jan 19 @ 11:59 pm

Submit Program for Checkpoint #6 (Release)

    • Upload a zip file to Schoology containing program code and a Runnable Jar file.

Fri Jan 21

32 | Launch Day!